My Whole 30 Experience

It’s day 31 of my Whole 30.  Which means, I did it! And I will say, it’s not ‘that’ hard.  I love this quote from the author, Melissa Hartwig, “It is not hard. Don’t you dare tell us this is hard. Beating cancer is hard. Birthing a baby is hard. Losing a parent is hard. Drinking your coffee black. Is. Not. Hard. – See more at: http://whole30.com/step-two/#sthash.EWB932zf.dpuf”

(And, if you want you can add coconut milk (full fat) to your coffee, which I happen to be drinking right now.  And it’s good!)

And drum roll please, I lost 6 pounds! In 30 days! I am really happy about that.  I was secretly hoping I lost double digits, like 10, but I am actually more happy about this.  Six pounds isn’t a crazy number, which leads me to believe that this is real.  It’s not some fad, it is sustainable weight loss.

The other reason why 6 pounds is awesome is because outside of following the food rules, I didn’t restrict myself.  I ate what I wanted and how much I wanted.  I never felt hungry (unless it was right before a meal), I didn’t count calories, I didn’t think a whole lot about macronutrient proportions or if I was eating too much fat.  In fact, because I’ve been buying my avocadoes at Costco, I have a lot to eat once they are ripe, so it became one of my goals towards then end to eat 1 avocado a day.  And I have a new found love for them.

Here are some other things I noticed during the 30 days:

-Tigers blood (what the Whole 30ers call this side effect) – Sustained energy throughout the day.  You heard me say this before if you’re a regular reader.  I don’t have energy swings, I don’t get tired at 3:00 p.m. (or right after lunch), and I don’t get low blood sugar or the ‘shakes’ (which would happen to me somewhat frequently.)  This is the greatest change for me (outside of better body image) because I used to feel tired a lot and back in the day, I would actually fall asleep sitting up in a chair right around that 2-3 p.m. slump. Tigers blood is also just overall feelings of awesomeness.

-Better body image.  I started to see changes in my face and body maybe 2 weeks in which is always a good feeling.  But having a little more control over my eating habits has also helped me feel so good about myself.  My eating and drinking habits (especially at night and when I was alone) made me feel a little out of control.  I snacked and ate out of boredom.  Or I’d get these uncontrollable cravings for pizza specifically and would order one and eat a lot of it and then feel like crap afterwards.  Having this control and not turning to foods when I’m bored has sent my self image through the roof. Also, the foods I eat now, make me feel good.  I never feel sick to my stomach, even if I am really full.

-My skin and hair was generally pretty good.  But I have noticed that my skin is clearer and more even.  And my hair is crazy silky (probably from all the avocados.)  I actually noticed this change (especially my skin) in the picture taken last night where I was makeup free.  (Photo note: I really was in auntie heaven.  If my hubby was with me, there is no way that my nephew would have wanted to cuddle with me, he for sure would have been cuddling my hubby instead, his ‘best-friend’. So I got really lucky.)

IMG_0307

-Okay starting out, my running was really a problem.  Then, on day 18, I went for a 4 miler and I felt really good.  But I wasn’t sure how my half-marathon was going to go (coming up on day 23).  It went really well, much better than I expected.  I felt good the majority of the time. There was one point right after the mile 10 marker when I started to feel really weak.  I was about to try and eat some of the banana I stashed in my pocket (literally) but I thought I’d wait it out and focus on my running mantras which happen to be, “just one foot in front of the other” and “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength”.  And it worked.  I also focused on picking off people in front of me.  What’s crazy is that I did end up passing a lot of people in the last 4-5 miles and I never got passed in those final miles. Now the very end of this race (like the last half mile) is a total b**** and I felt awful for that last five minutes (literally my final mile was a 10 minute mile which really disappointed me because I was running much faster up to that point.) There is this one really steep up-hill that did me in.  I had to walk and I thought for sure someone would pass me.  But no one did, apparently everyone else had a problem with that hill too. When I did finally finish, I thought for sure I was going to puke, but I didn’t.  I didn’t have anything except some water at the water stops and that is why I was sick at the end.  If I’m going to continue with this, I will definitely need to figure out long run fueling because I’ve got some marathon training coming up in the near future. (Oh by the way, the morning before the half, I ate 3 scrambled eggs with hot sauce. I never would have thought that would be a good pre-run breakfast.) The other great thing about this race was my stomach.  I had zero stomach issues. Which is amazing.

-Sleep – My sleep has been great.  I still have very vivid dreams but the quality of my sleep is great every single night.

So what do I do now. On the whole 30 website, they actually talk about this and how people get panicky on day 30 about what to do on day 31.  Here was my original plan, continue eating the Whole 30 way, but add in wine so I am not a sloppy drunk in Mexico because I will be having some cocktails in Mexico.  But how much of an impact on my tolerance will a couple of glasses of wine a few nights actually have on my tolerance. So I haven’t decided.

Do you want to know what I am craving right now? Hot oatmeal. I know, I am weird. I’ll let you all know if I cave.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “My Whole 30 Experience”

  1. Kathy Says:

    great story! Enjoy your well deserved cocktails!

  2. Susan Hultquist Theorin Says:

    Leah, you are someone I really look up to!

Leave a Reply

