Dusting this thing off! (And an intro to the Whole30)

It has been close to 3 years since my last post.  As I’m sure you can guess, a lot has happened since that last post.  A couple more marathons, a new job which now includes me running my own business, and a husband, who is quite honestly, the greatest man ever! (I was even a running coach for Team Challenge last year for a bunch of newbies and vets who were training for a half marathon.) I’d say it’s been an amazing 3 years.

I’ve been thinking about this blog a lot over the last couple of months and how much I missed it and writing on a regular basis.  And since it’s a new year,  it seems like a great time to start.

Also, I’m doing this thing called the Whole30.  In a nutshell, it’s 30 days of super clean, paleo-style eating plan for 30 days.  No sugar (not even the natural kind, i.e. honey or molasses,) no alcohol, no grains of any kind, no dairy, no legumes. However, you can have meat, fish, veggies, fruits, and healthy fats with no calorie restrictions.  The only thing is that “they” only want you eating 3 meals a day, so they want you to have generous portions when you do eat.  So, back to the question that I’m sure is going through your mind, why on earth would someone do such a thing?  Well here is how it all went down.

One lazy Saturday night in December, one of my closest friends came over for a night of wine and Thai delivery, and well, girl talk.  Our upcoming trip to Mexico was a main topic of conversation.  I also went through how crappy I felt inside and out and how I needed to get in gear before I got back into my bikini.  (The last few years have also added some (lots of) extra pounds.) She told me about the Whole30, how it made her feel, how her relationship with food changed, and just how awesome she felt.  She and her roommate (another good friend) planned to do it in January.  She had me download the book, It Starts With Food, because “I had to read it to understand the ‘why’ behind the rules.”  For anyone considering doing the Whole30, I definitely also recommend reading it.

I’m on day 7 and it’s been great! My husband is doing it with me which really helps! I’ve had some really weird dreams (every single night, except last night).  But otherwise, life has been pretty normal.  So far, my favorite thing about it has been my motivation to get creative again in the kitchen.  I’ve made some awesome dishes and I am planning to share all the recipes here as I’ve gotten a lot of feedback from friends on social media to share.

Update:  I was almost finished with this post with a full recipe to share and something happened and it got deleted and I can’t figure out how to recover it.  I’m less than thrilled.  I will post the recipe for my Spaghetti Squash Bolognese when I have more time. Here is a really inadequate picture of it…

IMG_0509 I was delish though!

 

Well, until next time friends!

-Leah

 

 

One Response to “Dusting this thing off! (And an intro to the Whole30)”

  1. Susan Hultquist Theorin Says:

    Looks delish! I am so proud of you!

Leave a Reply

