Summertime training

I’m sorry for the lack in posts.  This summer has been crazy and when I have free time the last thing I think about is updating this thing.  I’ve been working on trying to find a balance in my life right now.  Working one full-time and two part time jobs can be challenging sometimes although I am fortunate enough to work very minimally at my part time jobs.  It’s funny how  until recently I had been desperately trying to find work and to fill up my days.  Now I’m struggling to fit everything in.  Some of my days are fine and include the regular 8 hour work day.  Those days have been great. I have time to run or time to go golfing or time to do laundry, etc.  But a few days out of the week, I leave the house for work at 6:30 a.m., then go to another job immediately after.  Get done at 9:30 or 10 and then go to the gym to run 8 miles. And eventually get home at 12 to go to bed and start all over.  Those are the days that I really struggle with. Thankfully they only happen once or twice a week.

Balance

Balance…

Trying to balance my work schedule with my marathon training has been another challenge that I am trying to work out.  Running at 10:30 p.m. is NOT my cup of tea.  I’m so wound up after a run that I cant get myself to sleep soundly (and I’m already sleep deprived at that point.) But I cant wake myself up at 4:30 a.m. I know  a lot of people do that but it is still dark out at 4:30.  And, it hasn’t happened for me yet (and I don’t know if it will.) And it’s not like I can go out there at 5 p.m. for a run since it’s about 90 degrees and 90% humidity.  There is no reason to put myself through that much agony.  So, the majority of my shorter runs have been at 8 p.m. or later. My weekends have been jam packed this summer.  All fun things like going to the cabin, bachelorette parties, birthday parties, and camping.  The rest of my weekends this summer look the same… more bachelorette parties, birthday parties, weddings, baby and wedding showers, and maybe one more trip to the cabin (my favorite place, except for long runs because of the horse flies…ick) So, I’ve been doing my long runs with Melissa and other friends on Friday mornings.  Which has been nice because then I have the whole weekend to do what I need to do.  I don’t have to worry about getting to bed early on Friday nights or waking up early on Saturdays.  And I’m also not super tired on Saturday nights.  But the runs themselves have been extremely difficult for me.  I feel like I’m running on empty.  My muscles feel fine, my injury came back but now is fading away again (THANK GOD!) But my energy levels have been really low.  It’s probably a combination of the weather, not getting as much sleep as I need, not eating the most balanced diet, and training for too long (jumping from one marathon (my spring marathon) to training right away again for Twin Cities.) My body I’m sure is a little shocked right now but I’m hoping it adapts soon.  Now along with that I just need to find my motivation again and I’ll be fine… I think.  (I was supposed to run today and I didn’t.) 😦

I’ll try to remember to keep you all updated more regularly.  (Oh, and by the way, my last long run was 16 miles and I think I jump back down this week to 14. YAY!) And my total mileage last week was 35 miles plus one day of cross training.  (Cross- training is something else I really need to work on.)

Have a great week everyone and wish me luck with this whole life balance thing!

Leah

One Response to “Summertime training”

  1. Mom Says:

    I, am certainly in awe of you and you self-control. You have set goals, and accomplished them. I admire and love you!

Leave a comment